Nov 21, 2015

St Barth Catacup 2'015: Day 3 for Delnooz-van Leeuwen

All Images: Pascal Alemany - Complete gallery here.  Press release sent by Dominique Ladouceur - Video by Easy Ride later. Top 5 below. Full results at,_Allianz,_Samedi/
St-Barth Assurances/Allianz Prize
A successful race strategy for Delnooz and Van Leeuwen
Alemany They had finished second on the first race day and stayed in the top ten yesterday. It was only a question of time before the crew from the Netherlands, Delnooz /Van Leeuwen, won a race. « You want to try to sail the shortest distance and most of the time that is the closest to the Island, and thankfully it’s also the best view of the scenery ! », said Jeroen Van Leeuwen.

The round-the-island race set off at 10:30 a.m. in generally good sailing conditions. The wind quickly died down, forcing the race committee to move the finish line forward at Coco. With a 0.2 knots wind, some boats had to get towed back to St-Jean beach. « We go from one surprise to another on this edition of the Cata Cup! This morning, we left for a round-the-island race with favorable conditions and the more we progressed towards Grenadins, the more the wind started to die down with raindrops setting in. We decided to stop the race at Coco », explained Didier Flamme, President of the race committee for the St-Barth Cata Cup.

A crew from St-Barth on the podium
Nice surprise for the residents of St-Barth as local crew David Guiheneuc and Noa Turskti take second place. This is the best result yet for a local team.

The day’s results
1- NED 2 (ODP2) Elke Delnooz and Jeroen Van Leeuwen
2- FRA 1796 (Caraïbes Cleaning) David Guiheneuc and Noa Turskti
3- FRA 007 (ODP1) Jean-Christophe Mourniac and Alexandre Dekytspotter
4- BEL 1 (St-Barth Sail Racing Team) Patrick Demesmaecker and Olivier Gagliani
5- USA 7 (Tradewind Aviation) Todd Ricardi and Evan Aras
6- AUS 888 (Emeraude Plage) Carolijn Brouwer and Darren Bundock
7- CAN 443 (Julbo) Olivier Pilon and Jean-Pierre Desrochers
8- FRA 1844 (O’Corail) Turenne Laplace and Patrick Laplace
9- FRA 29 (Float and Shoot) Pierre-Yves Durand and Antoine Le Corre
10- USA 80 (St-Barth Properties) John Casey and Colin Page