Apr 21, 2010

UK F18: TT Series at Minnis Bays report

The UK F18 is full of talent, remember that in last Worlds they took 2nd (Rob Wilson) and 3rd places ( Hugh Styles)
Will Sunnucks, winner of the 2009 Texel round on his modified M20 reports weekend results published at the
Results page on monday
Glad to know the Shockwaves are spreading and doing well.
Sent By William Sunnucks
18 Travellers Trophy Minnis Bay Sailing Club – 17th/18th April 2010

Light sea breezes and a warm welcome greeted the 16 strong F18 fleet on Saturday morning. Minnis Bay Sailing Club is on the North Kent coast, and the breeze was starting at around 11am from the North and veering steadily to the East. Key to the racing was the strong flood tide, which favoured those who could get in to the shallower water on the right hand side of the beat. Even in the fast F18 catamarans, under laying the windward mark and tacking in the tide was painful.

Three long races on Saturday saw strong performances from the Nacra Infusions of Grant Piggott from Weston SC and David White from Thorpe Bay. By the end of the third race there was a full double trapezing breeze and sunshine – great sailing.

On Sunday the winds were lighter, and the Brightlingsea built Shockwaves came to the fore, taking the first three places in race 4. Local experts Simon Northrop and Robyn Ford won both races, but they couldn’t do enough to catch Saturday’s leaders. Grant Piggott and Andrew Sinclair won on the tie break.
Many thanks to Minnis Bay for laying on a great event.

1st Grant Piggott and Andrew Sinclair (Nacra) Weston YC
2nd David White and Jon Sweet (Nacra) Thorpe Bay YC
3rd William Sunnucks and Will Crossley (Shockwave) Brightlingsea SC
4th Simon Northrop and Robyn Ford (Shockwave)
5th Luke Yeates and Matt Humphries (Hobie Wildcat) Weston SC
6th Stuart Gummer and Ryan Crawford (Shockwave) Royal Victoria YC
Full results

Popular Posts